This year’s Luxor African Film Festival (LAFF), which is dedicated to the memory of the iconic Egyptian star Omar Sharif, Moroccan critic Mustafa Elmesnawy and director Henry Duparc (Cote d’Ivoire), has announced jury members and honorees. Danny Glover (Lethal Weapon, The Color Purple) is the jury president of the Freedom Competition, along with French film critic Olivier Barlet, actress-director Ahd Kamel (Saudi Arabia), director Ahmed Maher (Egypt) and novelist Ebtihal El-Shayeb (Egypt). Cote d’Ivoire has also been chosen to the country guest of honor this year, on the the fiftieth anniversary of the first production of an Ivorian film. Nawara by Egypt’s Hala Khalil will be the opening film. The festival takes place in Luxor, Egypt, January 25-31.


Please follow and like us: