The Society of Motion Pictures and Television Engineers (SMPTE) has revealed the honorees who will be recognized at the SMPTE Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition in Hollywood, California. This year, the awards ceremony will take place on October 24, following the SMPTE 2016 Symposium. In addition, the SMPTE Centennial Gala will recognize James Cameron, who will receive an honorary membership for his technical innovation and use of SFX algorithms, underwater filming methods, among others. Douglas Trumbull will be awarded the Progress Medal for technologies in visual effects and HFR cinematography. Other awards will recognize R. Norman Hurst, Peter G.M. Centen, Paul Kellar, among others.

Please follow and like us: